On November 29th, in Ottawa, the President of the Senate, the Honourable George Furey, Q.C., accompanied by Québec (Grandville) Senator Chantal Petitclerc, awarded a commemorative medal in honour of the 150th anniversary of the Senate of Canada to Monique Lefebvre, executive director of AlterGo and founder of the Défi sportif AlterGo.

Through this award, the Senate wishes to recognize the accomplishments of Canadians who have put their generosity and commitment to the service of their community. Senator Chantal Petitclerc has honoured Monique Lefebvre for her involvement in the Canadian Paralympic movement and for the actions she undertook for a greater social inclusion.

“This distinction recognizes the work of people across Canada, who contribute to building a more inclusive society,” said Monique Lefebvre, medal recipient. “It is extraordinary for AlterGo to be recognized as a major stakeholder in the development of Paralympic sport and to be part of this big family,” she added.

A Remarkable Journey

At the head of AlterGo since 1981, Monique Lefebvre has made it her life’s mission to change the society’s perception of people with functional limitations. As a young girl, she always wanted to bring to light the capacities and talents of those people, so they may be recognized as full-fledged citizens. That is why she founded Défi sportif AlterGo in 1984.

Altruistic, generous and dynamic, she champions the rights of people with functional limitations. Her actions demonstrate her commitment. Fairness and equality being at the heart of her concerns, she works in collaboration with AlterGo members, political representatives, municipal staff, sponsors and sports federations to promote universal accessibility, so that disabled people have access to the same services as all other citizens.

Her leadership, perseverance and convening qualities contributed to changing mentalities. Her involvement has many times been recognized and rewarded. In November 2016, she was awarded the prestigious Meritorious Service Cross by Governor General David Lloyd Johnston, in recognition of her stellar commitment to social inclusion.

However, Monique Lefebvre feels that her greatest reward is in the improvement of the living conditions of people with functional limitations, thanks to breakthroughs of universal accessibility.

About the Senate of Canada 150th Anniversary Medal

The medal commemorates the Senate’s 150th Anniversary of the first time senators sat Parliament in Ottawa, on November 6, 1867. The medals are being awarded to Canadians or permanent residents actively involved in making their communities better places to live in.

Lt.-Col. Carl Gauthier, Director of Honours & Recognition at the Department of National Defence, designed the medal. The observe of the medal features the Senate symbol and the reverse illustrates the Senate Chamber. Space is provided to inscribe the name of the recipient.