Défi sportif AlterGo recognized its volunteers’ exceptional contribution during the Recognition Evening, which took place last Thursday at the Sandman Hotel in Longueuil.

The volunteer recognition program is very important to Défi sportif AlterGo. In 2018, approximately 1200 volunteers devoted more than 23,000 hours of their time to help make the event a success. To thank them for their invaluable support, new elements were introduced this year.

During the Recognition Evening, volunteers celebrating their 5th, 15th, 25th and 30th years of service were in the spotlight. For the first time, those with 10 and 20 years of dedication were also added. A total of 36 volunteers were honoured, many of whom were present despite the bad weather.

“We are very proud of our volunteers’ commitment. About 50% of them return each year. It is vital for us to recognize their contribution. It is also a way to encourage their dedication to our event,” says Andréanne Coutaller, Coordinator of Volunteer Relations at Défi sportif AlterGo.


Another innovative element was the framed and identified medal presented to each honoured volunteer. Medals were personalized according to the number of years of service: 5 years – committed volunteer, 10 years – dedicated volunteer, 15 years – passionate volunteer, 20 years – outstanding volunteer, 25 years – distinguished volunteer, 30 years – exceptional volunteer.

“Our volunteers are very excited about this project. I often receive emails from volunteers wanting to know how many years they have reached! They are looking forward to reaching an important milestone. It is also another good way to recognize their contribution on a more regular basis. Défi sportif AlterGo is very fortunate to be able to count on its volunteers’ energy and passion, year after year! “, emphasized Andréanne Coutaller.


The following volunteers were honoured for 5 years of volunteer work: Karine Audy, Marc-André Gagnon, Carole Girard, Yuval Hananayev, Véronique Houle, François Lahaise, Alain Lavoie, Joey Leroux, Philippe Marineau-Dufresne, Josée Montpetit, Irène Pinet, Tomasz Podlesny, William Pulice, Alain Rakotomanana, Michaël Rossignol-Pimparé, Roberta Roy, Isabelle Thibert and Drew Wawin.


The following volunteers were honoured for 10 years of volunteer service: Johanne Aubin, Christiane Caisse, Marc Desautels, Daniel Gendron, Don Cameron Grant, Alexandra Kurtzweg, André Lavallée, Robert McDonald, Alexandra Roy, Bruno Sirois and Manon Tremblay.


The following volunteers were honoured for 15 years of commitment: Typhani-Rose Beaudoin, Stéphane Fillion, Anna Luu-Nguyen and Nicole Normandin.


The following volunteers were honoured for 20 years of passion:

Yvan Le Bourdais and Gaétane Pilote.


Lucie Pelletier received a special tribute as she has been involved with Défi sportif AlterGo for 30 years. Over the years, she contributed to several aspects of the event, but played a major role in the school component and in site management at the Montreal Airport.

An official plaque was unveiled on which, every year, the names of the volunteers who have participated in 30 editions of Défi sportif AlterGo will be inscribed. Lucie Pelletier’s name was engraved on the plaque, next to Claude Dagenais, who was the first volunteer to be honoured in this category last year. This plaque will be installed in AlterGo’s offices to inspire both our visitors and our team members.

Congratulations to all our volunteers!


PHOTO 1: Volunteers honoured during the Recognition Evening.

PHOTO 2: Customized medals were created to recognize our volunteers’ contributions.

PHOTO 3: Jean-Marie Lapointe, spokesperson for Défi sportif AlterGo, Maxime Gagnon, Deputy Director-General of AlterGo, Claude Dagenais, exceptional volunteer, Andréanne Coutaller, Coordinator of Volunteer Relations for Défi sportif AlterGo, and Élise Blais, Chairman of AlterGo’s Board of Directors.